Pages
Our lawyers will help you to meet your goals.
Anne-Marie Sheahan picture

Anne-Marie Sheahan

Ms. Sheahan is the senior partner of Sheahan LLP and has concentrated her practice in environmental counselling, analysis of new regulations and the environmental issues raised in commercial transactions. She advises clients on current and emerging regulation, on environmental corporate disclosure, on compliance with environmental laws, on the restoration of contaminated sites and on the development and closure of industrial sites. She negotiates and drafts environmental contracts such as rehabilitation and indemnification agreements, sale of offsets and purchase of contaminated assets. She coordinates environmental due diligences for all types of transactions, including initial public offerings, sale of shares and assets of industrial businesses and financing of industrial projects or activities.

Ms. Sheahan acts on behalf of clients which operate in all industrial sectors and has expertise in mining, metallurgic, forestry, pulp and paper, petroleum, infrastructure, food processing, chemical products, recycling and waste management regulation.

Ms. Sheahan is a member of the Permanent Committee on the Environment of the Quebec Bar. She is a past president of the Environment Section of the Canadian Bar Association (Quebec division), past member of the executive of the National Environmental, Energy and Resources Law Section of the Canadian Bar Association and is a former Board member of RECYC-QUEBEC, a Crown corporation. She has practised environmental law in a large Canadian law firm for twenty years where she headed the national environmental group and was a member of the national Board of Partners for several years.

Ms. Sheahan has authored several articles on environmental law, namely on the civil law and the environment, on environmental issues related to the execution of securities and on environmental disclosure by public companies. She has given conferences on the sale of offsets, Canadian and American climate change regulation, integration of the amendments brought to the EQA (Bill 89), environmental aspects of infrastructure projects, sale of contaminated land, class actions in environmental matters, defenses in penal prosecutions and environmental liens and priorities. She was invited to speak at the annual seminar for Federal Court judges to discuss the application of the precautionary principle in Canadian law.

She appears in all editions of the Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory since 1997 as a “leading lawyer” in environmental law. She is ranked “Band 1 – Notable Practitioner” for Canada in the British directory Chambers Global. She is also listed in the Martindale Hubbell, PLC Which Lawyer, Best Lawyers in Canada, in which she was named "Lawyer of the Year 2015 in Environmental Law - Montréal", Who’s Who Legal for Canada and the World Leading Environmental Lawyers. She appears in the Canadian Women in the Lead Directory and the World’s Leading Women in Business Law Directory.

She received BCL and LLB degrees from McGill University in 1989 and was admitted to the Quebec Bar in 1991. She is fluent in the English and French languages.

Paul Granda picture

Paul Granda

Paul Granda has a vast experience in several fields related to environmental law. Over the years, he has advised clients on a variety of questions pertaining to issues relative to their establishments’ or their operation’s compliance with environmental laws, and potential liabilities associated namely with present and historical land contamination, particularly in the petroleum and mining sectors, as well as in the context of brownfields redevelopment. He regularly provides counsel to his clients in the course of business transactions and his advice is sought as regards developing and implementing, or reviewing environmental management systems. His practice in the field of environmental law has also involved working closely with clients and government authorities regarding project approvals and the transfer of permits and approvals.

His client base includes companies in the manufacturing, mining, petroleum and real estate sectors as well as in the field of waste management and, namely, extended producer responsibility (product stewardship).

He is cited in Lexpert Canadian Legal Directory 2019, The Best Lawyers in Canada 2018, Who’s Who Legal: Canada 2017, and Chambers Global 2019 as a leading lawyer in Canada in environmental law.

Mr. Granda has written numerous environmental law articles and is regularly invited as a speaker at national and international conferences on a variety of environmental topics, including current trends in environmental laws and regulations, liability for contaminated sites, directors’ and officers’ liability, environmental consultants’ liability and extended producer responsibility. He has been a contributor to Canadian Environmental Law published by Butterworths and has contributed to The Canadian Brownfields Manual published by LexisNexis Butterworths.

Mr. Granda is a director and secretary of the Environmental Auditing Association of Québec (Association québécoise de vérification environnementale) and is Secretary of Société de gestion des huiles usagées (SOGHU), the Québec used oils, oil, anti-freeze and fluid containers and used filters recovery and reclamation association. He is a member of the Québec non-profit organization Les Ailes de l’Espérance/The Wings of Hope whose mission is to finance, support and implement potable water projects in remote villages in Peru.

He received a BCL degree from McGill University in 1975 and was admitted to the Quebec Bar in 1976.

Mariko Maya Khan picture

Mariko Maya Khan

Ms. Khan is an associate at Sheahan LLP. She provides advice on drafting environmental contracts, including in the context of commercial transactions, and on preparing applications for environmental permits. She has advised clients in the context of large industrial and commercial development projects impacting buried residual materials, wetlands and protected species. She also represents clients in the context of applications for review of monetary administrative penalties before the Bureau de réexamen and provides advice in environmental law in the context of civil, commercial and penal litigation matters.

Ms. Khan advises clients on compliance with environmental laws. She has researched various environmental legal questions concerning wind energy, mining, pulp and paper, aboriginal law, extended producer responsibility (waste management), restoration of contaminated sites, protection of wildlife and plant species, regulation of GHG emissions and regulation of noise. She has also provided opinions on the applicability of laws given the constitutional separation of powers.

She advised and gave presentations to clients in various fields regarding amendments made to the EQA in 2017 and 2018 and regarding proposed regulatory amendments.

Ms. Khan holds a BA in political science from McGill University in 2006, an LLB (in civil law) from the University of Montreal in 2009 and a JD (in common law) from the University of Montreal in 2012.

She is the president of the executive committee of the Environment, Energy and Natural Resources Section of the Quebec Division of the Canadian Bar Association.

She was admitted to the Quebec Bar in 2010.

Élise Théorêt picture

Élise Théorêt

Ms. Théorêt is an associate at Sheahan LLP, where she has previously completed her professional internship. She has a diversified practice in environmental law litigation and counselling

Ms. Théorêt is mainly involved in litigation matters in environmental law for private and parapublic companies, as well as for individuals. She represents clients in civil actions for contaminated lands, historical migration of contaminants, hidden defects, neighbourhood disturbances, injunctions and claims for damages.

She defends clients in penal actions at the federal, provincial and municipal levels, in proceedings instituted pursuant to the Fisheries Act, the Canadian Environmental Protection Act and the Environment Quality Act. Ms. Théorêt represents clients which apply for the review of monetary administrative penalties. She has appeared before the Court of Quebec and the Superior Court, in addition to having participated in the preparation of motions filed in the Court of Appeal of Quebec and the Supreme Court of Canada.

Ms. Théorêt provides environmental counselling, in the field of pulp and paper, hazardous residual waste, factory manufacturing and processing, remediation of contaminated lands and mining. She also advises clients with regards to potential civil, penal and administrative liability.

She co-wrote articles dealing with water protection and natural resources in Quebec. She has prepared and presented on several occasions a conference on the potential liability of environmental consultants. She has also presented a conference on environmental law during the annual congress of The Young Bar of Montréal. She prepares the legal newsletter for the Info-AQVE, which is published four times a year.

Ms. Théorêt received her LLB from the University of Montreal in 2013 and was placed on the Dean's Excellence List. During her undergraduate degree, she was part of the Environmental Committee of the law students from the University of Montreal. She completed a Masters in Environmental Management at the University of Sherbrooke in 2015. As part of her Masters, she received an Award of Excellence and was granted a scholarship from The S.M. Group for her academic results.

She was admitted to the Quebec Bar in 2014.

Pages
Nos avocats peuvent vous aider à atteindre vos objectifs.
Photo d'Anne-Marie Sheahan

Anne-Marie Sheahan

Me Sheahan est l’associée principale de Sheahan S.E.N.C.R.L. et se spécialise depuis plus de 25 ans dans le conseil, l’analyse des nouvelles réglementations et les aspects environnementaux des transactions commerciales. Elle conseille ses clients sur la réglementation actuelle et émergente, sur la divulgation environnementale des compagnies, sur les questions de conformité aux lois environnementales, sur la restauration de sites contaminés et sur le développement et la fermeture de sites industriels. Elle négocie et rédige des contrats environnementaux, comme des conventions de réhabilitation et d’indemnisation, des contrats d’achat de crédits compensatoires et des conventions d’achat d’actifs contaminés. Elle coordonne des vérifications diligentes environnementales pour tous types de transactions, dont des offres publiques d’achat, la vente d’actions et d’actifs d’entreprises industrielles et le financement de projets et d’activités industrielles.

Me Sheahan agit pour le compte de clients provenant de tous les secteurs industriels et possède une expertise particulière en matière de réglementation des mines, de la métallurgie, de la foresterie, des pâtes et papiers, des pétrolières, des infrastructures, de l’agroalimentaire, des produits chimiques, de la réutilisation et du recyclage et de la gestion des matières résiduelles.

Me Sheahan est membre du Comité permanent sur l’environnement du Barreau du Québec. Elle a été la présidente de la Section environnement de l’Association du Barreau canadien (division Québec), membre de l’exécutif de la Section du droit de l’environnement, de l’énergie et des ressources de l’Association du Barreau canadien (division nationale) et membre du conseil d’administration de RECYC-QUÉBEC, une société d’État. Elle a pratiqué le droit de l’environnement pendant vingt ans dans un grand cabinet canadien, où elle a dirigé le groupe national de l’environnement et siégé au conseil des associés national pendant plusieurs années.

Me Sheahan est l’auteur de plusieurs articles concernant le droit de l’environnement, notamment sur le droit civil et l’environnement, les aspects environnementaux liés à l’exercice des recours hypothécaires et la divulgation environnementale des compagnies publiques. Elle a donné des conférences sur la vente des crédits compensatoires, la réglementation canadienne et américaine des changements climatiques, l’intégration des amendements apportés à la LQE, les aspects environnementaux des projets d’infrastructure, la vente de terrains contaminés, les recours collectifs en matière d’environnement, les permis environnementaux, les moyens de défense en cas de poursuites pénales et les charges et priorités environnementales. Elle a été invitée au séminaire annuel des juges de la Cour fédérale pour traiter de l’application du principe de précaution en droit canadien.

Elle apparaît dans toutes les éditions de Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory depuis 1997 en tant que « leading lawyer » dans le domaine de l’environnement. Elle est classée « Band 1 – Notable Practitioner » pour le Canada dans le répertoire britannique Chambers Global. Elle est également mentionnée dans le Martindale Hubbell, PLC Which Lawyer, Best Lawyers in Canada, dans lequel elle a été nommée "avocate de l‘année en droit de l’environnement – Montréal" en 2015 et en 2017, Who’s Who Legal pour le Canada et le World Leading Environmental Lawyers. Elle apparaît dans le Canadian Women in the Lead Directory et le World’s Leading Women in Business Law Directory.

Elle a obtenu un B.C.L. et un LL.B. de l’Université McGill en 1989 et est devenue membre du Barreau du Québec en 1991. Elle parle et écrit l’anglais couramment.

Photo de Paul Granda

Paul Granda

Me Paul Granda possède une vaste expérience dans plusieurs domaines liés au droit de l'environnement. Au cours des années, il a été amené à conseiller ses clients sur diverses questions se rapportant à la conformité de leurs établissements ou de leur exploitation aux lois environnementales et aux responsabilités potentielles découlant notamment de la contamination actuelle ou historique de terrains, plus particulièrement dans les secteurs minier et pétrolier, de même qu'en matière de redéveloppement de friches industrielles (brownfields). Il conseille régulièrement ses clients dans le cadre de transactions d'affaires et ses conseils sont requis lors de l’élaboration et l’implantation de systèmes de gestion environnementale ou au moment de leur révision. La pratique de Me Granda dans le domaine du droit de l'environnement l'a également amené à collaborer étroitement avec ses clients et les autorités gouvernementales en vue de l’approbation de projets et la cession de permis et d’autorisations.

Sa clientèle compte des entreprises œuvrant dans les secteurs manufacturiers, miniers et pétroliers, de même que dans ceux de l'immobilier et de la gestion des matières résiduelles, particulièrement au niveau de la responsabilité élargie des producteurs.

Il est par ailleurs cité dans les répertoires Lexpert Canadian Legal Directory 2019, The Best Lawyers in Canada 2018, Who’s Who Legal: Canada 2017, et Chambers Global 2019 comme un chef de file au Canada dans le domaine du droit de l’environnement.

Me Granda a rédigé de nombreux articles portant sur le droit de l'environnement et il est régulièrement invité, tant à l’échelle nationale qu’à l’échelle internationale, à donner des conférences traitant de divers sujets relatifs au droit de l'environnement, notamment sur les tendances actuelles en matière de lois et de réglementation environnementales, la responsabilité liée aux sites contaminés, la responsabilité environnementale des administrateurs et dirigeants, la responsabilité des consultants en environnement de même que sur la responsabilité élargie des producteurs. Il a collaboré à la rédaction de l’ouvrage Canadian Environmental Law publié chez Butterworths ainsi qu'à la rédaction du Canadian Brownfields Manual publié chez LexisNexis Butterworths.

Me Granda est membre du conseil d'administration et secrétaire de l'Association québécoise de vérification environnementale, en plus d’être secrétaire de la Société de gestion des huiles usagées (SOGHU), l’organisme québécois qui veille à la récupération et à la valorisation des huiles usagées, des contenants d’huile, d’antigel et de fluides, et des filtres usagés. Il est membre de l’organisme à but non lucratif Les Ailes de l’Espérance dont la mission consiste à financer, soutenir et mettre en œuvre des projets d’eau potable dans des villages éloignés du Pérou.

Il a obtenu un B.C.L. de l’Université McGill en 1975 et est devenu membre du Barreau du Québec en 1976.

Photo de Mariko Maya Khan

Mariko Maya Khan

Me Khan est sociétaire au sein de Sheahan S.E.N.C.R.L.. Elle fournit des conseils en matière de rédaction de contrats environnementaux (incluant dans le cadre de transactions commerciales) et en préparation de demandes de permis environnementaux. Elle a notamment accompagné des clients dans le cadre de projets de développements industriels et commerciaux d’envergure impliquant la présence de matières résiduelles, de milieux humides et d’espèces protégées. Elle représente également des clients dans le cadre de contestations de sanctions administratives pécuniaires devant le Bureau de réexamen et offre des conseils en droit de l’environnement dans le cadre de litige civil, commercial et pénal.

Me Khan conseille ses clients en matière de conformité aux lois environnementales. Elle a approfondi diverses questions juridiques environnementales dans les domaines de l’énergie éolienne, des mines, des pâtes et papiers, du droit des autochtones, de la responsabilité élargie des producteurs (gestion de matières résiduelles), de la réhabilitation de terrains contaminés, de la protection des espèces fauniques et floristiques, de la réglementation des émissions de GES et de la réglementation du bruit. Elle a également donné des opinions sur le caractère applicable des lois compte tenu du partage constitutionnel des compétences.

Elle a conseillé et fait des présentations à des clients dans divers domaines quant aux modifications apportées à la LQE en 2017 et 2018 et aux modifications réglementaires proposées.

Me Khan a obtenu un baccalauréat en science politique de l’Université McGill en 2006, un LL.B. (en droit civil) de l’Université de Montréal en 2009 et un JD (en common law) de l’Université de Montréal en 2012.

Elle est présidente du comité exécutif de la Section Environnement, Énergie et Ressources naturelles de la Division du Québec de l’Association du Barreau canadien.

Elle est membre du Barreau du Québec depuis 2010.

Photo de Élise Théorêt

Élise Théorêt

Me Théorêt est sociétaire au sein de Sheahan S.E.N.C.R.L. et elle a une pratique diversifiée en litige et en conseil en droit de l’environnement. Elle y a auparavant complété son stage professionnel.

Me Théorêt oeuvre principalement dans des dossiers de litige en droit de l’environnement pour des entreprises privées et parapubliques, de même que pour des particuliers. Elle représente des clients dans le cadre de recours civils en matière de terrains contaminés, de migration historique de contaminants, de vices cachés, de troubles de voisinage, d’injonctions et de réclamations de dommages.

Elle assure la défense de clients dans des dossiers de nature pénale aux niveaux fédéral, provincial et municipal, notamment pour des recours entrepris en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches, la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement et la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement. Me Théorêt représente des clients pour des contestations de sanctions administrations pécuniaires. Elle a plaidé devant la Cour du Québec et la Cour supérieure, en plus d’avoir participé à la préparation de requêtes déposées à la Cour d’appel du Québec et à la Cour suprême du Canada.

Me Théorêt offre des conseils en matière environnementale, notamment dans le domaine des pâtes et papiers, des matières résiduelles dangereuses, de la fabrication et de la transformation en usine, de la réhabilitation de terrains contaminés et des mines. Elle conseille également les clients quant à leur responsabilité civile, pénale et administrative potentielle.

Elle a participé à la rédaction d'articles au sujet de la protection des eaux et des ressources naturelles au Québec. Elle a préparé et présenté à de nombreuses reprises une conférence en matière de responsabilité potentielle des consultants en environnement. Elle a également présenté une conférence sur le droit de l’environnement lors du congrès du Jeune Barreau de Montréal. Elle rédige la veille légale de l’Info-AQVE, qui est publiée quatre fois par année.

Me Théorêt a obtenu un LL.B. de l’Université de Montréal en 2013, se classant sur la Liste d’excellence du doyen. Au cours de son baccalauréat, elle a fait partie du Comité environnement des étudiants en droit de l’Université de Montréal. Elle a complété une maîtrise en Gestion de l’environnement à l’Université de Sherbrooke en 2015. Dans le cadre de sa maîtrise, elle a obtenu une mention d’excellence et une bourse du Groupe S.M. pour ses résultats académiques.

Elle est devenue membre du Barreau du Québec en 2014.